KDE 4 on old hardware

KDE 4 on old hardware
I am typing this post using KDE 4 on Kubuntu Hardy on the following hardware:
350MHz AMD K6-2
256mb RAM
4GB hard drive
wireless (atheros, madwifi driver)

…and it’s usable enough to type that and then freak out and lose half my post. But some of the little animations actually work!

kde4 on 350mhz

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “KDE 4 on old hardware”

  1. Andrew Says:

    haha, I was there, I used it, and it ran surprisingly well for a machine of its age and hardware specs.

  2. nixternal Says:

    hahaha yuriy! I told you that you were out of your mind for this one šŸ™‚ Next job, try and get it installed on an old Palm PDA :p

  3. Pharaos World - » links 2008-02-25 Says:

    […] 4 minimum hardware […]

  4. Garrick Says:

    I have been rocking a full Gutsy install using Gnome on my old P2 400mhz box for a while now. It doesnt supprise me that KDE4 runs. Heres to keeping old hardware alive.

  5. anonymous Says:

    Fonts! Oh, my eyes!…

  6. anonymous Says:

    Fonts! Oh, my eyes!…

  7. kOlaf Says:

    Wow!! i love KDE

Leave a Reply

